1.2 and the pain of Warzones!

So the 1.2 patch has been out now for about a week. Mostly I have no issues. EXCEPT in warzones. The new rules for awarding medals and how they relate to rewards. Well I think it smells. I am not a well equipped player in PvP. In order to get yourself equipped you need to earn warzone commendations. Now before 1.2 this would mean you would grind out warzones. Earn medals and commendations, and get paid for the time in experience and credits.

Now:

If you do not ear 3 medals you get zero… let me say that again. YOU GET ZERO. Nothing, nada, zip. This means in Warzones that you get dominated in by the other side, you are not likely to actually get any medals. I have played each of the different maps. And I have had games that. Win lose or draw… no rewards for anything less than 3 metals.

As a matter of fact we just lost a Civil war map and it was neck and neck the whole way, BUT I only got 2 medals. Even though I busted my rear attacking points, killing healers, and shooting everything I could. BUT I am not good enough. So I got 2 medals, and that gave me no commendations, no valor, no experience and no credits. I don’t even have enough commendations to buy PvP med packs.

The rich get richer and the poor get poorer. Or are they trying to make it so those of us that are not great at PvP will just stop all together. Heck there is no reward for open world PvP. I get no valor, or commendations or anything doing that. Yet they just put in a bunch of content that promotes open world combat.

I am frustrated, disappointed and getting to the point of being pissed off. I want to not feel like my time is a waste. I just want something for participating. For trying. I am not looking for a lot here, I know this. I have heard others vent the same.

Rumor has it that there is going to be an update that will change this. I have to admit I have raved about this issue all day. I am frustrated and not enjoying PvP.

Well thank you for listening to my rant.

*update

http://www.swtor.com/community/showthread.php?p=3995612#edit3995612

04.16.2012 , 11:06 AM | #37

Hey folks,   Some follow up news from observations of play and feedback over the weekend. In the next couple of days we will be deploying a small patch that will address the following issues:

As discussed, minimum medals to gain rewards will go from 3 to 1 to better reward those who are backfilled. Warzones will once again be shutting down when population imbalance is detected. This was an unfortunate bug where a feature of Ranked Warzones (in full team play it is not desirable to let one team end the game prematurely by quitting out) was incorrectly implemented globally.

Completion of Warzones will gain a large increase in the percentage of rewards it represents, so while scoring is still the primary driver, you will cease to see games that give no rewards if players have a minimum of 1 medal earned. We are extending the time we wait for a full team of eight to better make sure Warzones pop with complete teams.

A huge thank you to everyone who played this weekend and provided valuable feedback and analysis.

Daniel Erickson

Lead Game Designer

Ok I am dancing with joy at these changes. Thank you Mr. Erickson.

2 responses

  1. MEDALS*

    1. Fixed.. thanks grimmy.

Leave a Reply

